You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sam Boal via RollingNews.ie

Gardaí urge victims of 'Limerick fight club' to come forward after videos shared on social media

The Snapchat group allegedly features a number of violent incidents.

GARDAÍ HAVE URGED anyone who has been the victim of random assaults in the Limerick and Clare areas to come forward and make a statement so they can launch an official investigation. 

Local Fianna Fáil councillor Cathal Crowe requested gardaí to investigate a Snapchat ‘fight club’ that is showcasing both organised fights between teenagers and random attacks on young people.

The Snapchat group allegedly features boys fighting girls, unsuspecting young people being attacked on the street by gangs of youths, as well as other violent incidents. 

Crowe claimed that the videos show heads being kicked and jumped on.

Despite the seemingly large number of assaults, gardaí have told TheJournal.ie that no official complaints have been made to officers.

A spokesman urged anyone who has been the victim of the attacks to come forward. 

He said: “As of now, nobody has come forward to make a statement about any alleged assault. We would urge anyone who was the victim of one of the assaults to come forward.”

Crowe said that the videos show the locations and the schools.

“This type of behaviour should not, and can never, be tolerated. For the teenagers being attacked, the pain and trauma extends far beyond the physical; there is the fact that footage of the attack is being put up online for all and sundry to view it. It’s extremely humiliating.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

42 Comments
    Mute Darren Ahern
    Favourite Darren Ahern
    Jan 29th 2019, 1:11 PM

Did anyone explain the rules of fight club to these people!

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Jan 29th 2019, 1:13 PM

@Darren Ahern: Seems they did… hence no one’s talkin’ about it!?

Mute Darren Ahern
    Favourite Darren Ahern
    Jan 29th 2019, 1:46 PM

@Joe Phillips: they made a Snapchat group about it sure that’s worse than talking about it!

Mute Jim Buckley Barrett
    Favourite Jim Buckley Barrett
    Jan 29th 2019, 1:53 PM

@Darren Ahern: They are cowards, gangs attacking one or two people, not really a fight club.

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Jan 29th 2019, 2:49 PM

@Darren Ahern: Haha! Good point

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Jan 29th 2019, 2:51 PM

Although I don’t remember hearin’ Tyler Durden mention snapchat so, technically…

Mute Paddy O'Dea
    Favourite Paddy O'Dea
    Jan 29th 2019, 3:54 PM

@Darren Ahern: came here for this comment. Was not disappointed

Mute Carol Oates
    Favourite Carol Oates
    Jan 29th 2019, 1:34 PM

People don’t report stuff because Guards do nothing about it the majority of the time. And if they do something, the courts don’t follow through. There is no justice for victims in Ireland.

Mute Anthony
    Favourite Anthony
    Jan 29th 2019, 1:40 PM

Can’t do anything if it’s not reported.

Mute Carol Oates
    Favourite Carol Oates
    Jan 29th 2019, 1:47 PM

@Anthony: Can’t do anything when crimes are reported either apparently.

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    Jan 29th 2019, 2:06 PM

@Carol Oates: moral of the story: never try

Mute John Swan
    Favourite John Swan
    Jan 29th 2019, 2:08 PM

@Carol Oates: “apparently”

Mute Etherman
    Favourite Etherman
    Jan 29th 2019, 2:16 PM

@Carol Oates: something tells me you want to see more criminals doing porridge.

Mute O Hiongardail Collie
    Favourite O Hiongardail Collie
    Jan 29th 2019, 2:18 PM

@Carol Oates: I didnt know Ireland has a 0% crime detection rate…….. why have you hidden this from us for so long… all wise and powerful one

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Jan 29th 2019, 2:18 PM

@Carol Oates: It’s sadly true. Someone without a previous conviction would likely be given a suspended sentence for assault in this country, if it can even be proven through the courts. For victims the idea of taking on a gang like this when none of them are taken off the streets is terrifying since the chances of them or one of their comrades coming for revenge is high.

Mute Jake
    Favourite Jake
    Jan 29th 2019, 2:41 PM

@Carol Oates: all the gardai do is issue speeding fines

Mute Carol Oates
    Favourite Carol Oates
    Jan 29th 2019, 3:14 PM

@Rochelle: Exactly right.

Mute Bob Earner
    Favourite Bob Earner
    Jan 29th 2019, 1:15 PM

I’m in no way condoning any of the behaviour described here but I cannot imagine what my childhood would have been like if all the fights that went on when I was young had been filmed.

Two opposing schools fighting down the park….. fights after school….

Can’t say I can think of strangers ever being randomly attacked but there was a lot of fights when I was young that I’m very glad there is no evidence of today.

Mute Kian
    Favourite Kian
    Jan 29th 2019, 1:19 PM

@Bob Earner: I always get a chuckle out of the “kids these days”’comments from older generations. The same stuff and worse went on back the. Just there wasn’t cameras everywhere to record it or social media to share it

Mute Bob Earner
    Favourite Bob Earner
    Jan 29th 2019, 1:22 PM

@Kian: It’s the weirdest form of amnesia!!

Can you imagine if every fight resulted in a criminal assault charge!? 60% of my school would have been up in front of the Childrens Panel!

Mute Damo.f
    Favourite Damo.f
    Jan 29th 2019, 1:34 PM

@Bob Earner: There has always been fights after school. But these youths seem to be recording random vicious assaults just for the fun of it. A big difference.

Mute Mark
    Favourite Mark
    Jan 29th 2019, 1:39 PM

@Kian: ha exactly. If there’s a gun attack : jaysus the worst I ever saw was a knife.
    If there’s a knife attack : why can’t they just use their God given fists the cowards!
    Use fists : what is wrong with these monsters bring back the rope

Mute James Harney
    Favourite James Harney
    Jan 29th 2019, 5:16 PM

@Bob Earner: War of the Buttons is a classic Irish children’s film about two rival schools baiting lumps out if each other.

Mute Eon Cocker
    Favourite Eon Cocker
    Jan 29th 2019, 1:36 PM

any shyte bag who randomly attacks someone should be tarred, feathered and forced into the wilderness to fend for themselves

Mute Seriously stunned
    Favourite Seriously stunned
    Jan 29th 2019, 6:23 PM

@Eon Cocker: and blow we go live to the 1700s

Mute Seriously stunned
    Favourite Seriously stunned
    Jan 29th 2019, 6:24 PM

@Seriously stunned: and now we go live to the 1700s.

Mute Yzo Sirrius
    Favourite Yzo Sirrius
    Jan 29th 2019, 1:53 PM

Gardai are only getting involved and making a statement in the media because it’s in the public eye and they have to be seen to be doing something. Especially after the recent stats on young offenders getting away with a slew of crimes. They couldn’t care less about teenagers fighting, in reality.

Mute Tom Sawyer
    Favourite Tom Sawyer
    Jan 29th 2019, 2:45 PM

Don’t bother reporting it to the guards they are useless. I witnessed a car being broken into at the weekend rang the guards to report it & they never came, an hour later my wife rang back & reported it again, they never came and now the car is just sitting there wrecked. The scrotes sat in it for an hour trying to get it started and then just walked away.

Mute Pius Flynn
    Favourite Pius Flynn
    Jan 29th 2019, 3:34 PM

@Tom Sawyer: no money in responding to that.

Mute John Swan
    Favourite John Swan
    Jan 29th 2019, 3:59 PM

@Pius Flynn: we get it you don’t like the Gardaí…yawn

Mute Pius Flynn
    Favourite Pius Flynn
    Jan 29th 2019, 2:09 PM

We effectively have no police force in this country now as all their time is taken up gathering revenue for the Government by harassing hard working people going about their business.
    No other European people would put up with this lunacy

Mute David Irwin
    Favourite David Irwin
    Jan 29th 2019, 2:16 PM

@Pius Flynn: 10 people dead in 7 days on Irish roads! I think enforcing road traffic legislation is a worthwhile endeavour

Mute Love Your League
    Favourite Love Your League
    Jan 29th 2019, 2:23 PM

Why do people insist on sh*tting on the Gardai when the article clearly states that they are pro-actively trying to sort the problem out?

Mute George Salter
    Favourite George Salter
    Jan 29th 2019, 2:50 PM

@Pius Flynn: What exactly are you getting at? Hard-working people speeding; not paying tax; insurance; unsafe vehicles? And if you think that no other Europeans would put up with this, I invite you to try any of the above in France, the Uk, Spain or Germany. You might be surprised to find yourself walking home.

Mute Pius Flynn
    Favourite Pius Flynn
    Jan 29th 2019, 3:29 PM

@David Irwin: it depends on what legislation you are talking about.
    And anyway we have enough laws, we need training for young drivers, and roads that are safe to drive on.

Mute Pius Flynn
    Favourite Pius Flynn
    Jan 29th 2019, 5:14 PM

@George Salter: In other country’s they have technology called number plate recognition, you were probably too busy shining the local superintendents shoes to hear about it.
    In other country’s if the police tried to set up checkpoints like they do here, they would be driven across, and rightfully so.
    If you pay your tax and insurance and you have a valid drivers license you should be able to go about your business unhindered.
    The police have far too much power in this country, it’s a police state really.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Jan 29th 2019, 6:50 PM

@Pius Flynn: been stopped at checkpoints in Germany and Slovenia. Anymore “facts” you want to make up?

Mute Rodger 5
    Favourite Rodger 5
    Jan 29th 2019, 1:38 PM

Make the statements before someone dies.

Mute mondoburley80
    Favourite mondoburley80
    Jan 29th 2019, 4:15 PM

His name is Robert Paulson…

Mute Alan Currie
    Favourite Alan Currie
    Jan 29th 2019, 10:15 PM

Could we not just get some undercover Gardai to join the group and go beat the bejaysus out of them?